Kristin Lavransdatter III: The Cross by Sigrid Undset


I finished reading the third volume of novel Kristin Lavransdatter, The Cross, by Sigrid Undset last night.

I have really enjoyed this entire trilogy. The story is grand and transcends time. The end is necessarily sad, though, as the story follows the life of a woman, from youth to old age. It reminded me of the kind of sadness I experienced watching Return of the King. The same feeling was not conveyed, however, by J.R.R. Tolkien’s book by the same name (at least not nearly as deeply).

I’ve been drafting and redrafting this ‘graph in my head since sometime in the middle of the second volume; maybe I’ll get it down on “paper” now. One of my favorite aspects of this trilogy is how it is set so long ago and yet so many of the characters’ lessons are applicable to life today. The portrait the story paints of life in the Middle Ages both confirms and challenges my perception.

I don’t know what else to say about these books without giving anything away. They have to be some of my all-time favorites, though.

I can cross another line off the list! … What should I read now? Something light(er) or another title on the list? ‘Course, if I dive into Cloudstreet by Tim Winton, I’d also be making progress on that tl;dr challenge. Decisions, decisions.

Here is my post on the first volume, The Bridal Wreath, and here’s my post about the second volume, The Mistress of Husaby.

2 responses to “Kristin Lavransdatter III: The Cross by Sigrid Undset

  1. Pingback: Mindy Withrow » Kristin Lavransdatter

  2. Pingback: Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset | Semicolon

What do you think? I'd love to know.