Black Robe by Brian Moore

While traveling recently, I finished all the books I brought with me. Ack! What a horrible situation. I was in a relatively small town, but I didn’t lose hope. Instead, I made a list of a few books I thought I’d be able to find.

I went to Hastings, looked around, and finally asked for help finding which, if any, of the books on my list they had. They had two, and I purchased one, Black Robe by Brian Moore. I read it in a day, on the way home.

It was a good, quick read. I enjoyed the book.

Set in Canada, the book’s main character is a Jesuit missionary to an American Indian tribe. The novel asks several deep questions, integrated into the story. Other than that, it reminded me of the movie, Last of the Mohicans.

I discovered that a movie was made of Black Robe; it’s sitting next to the DVD player as I write, and I plan to post about that here, soon.

Oh, as you’ll see, I’ve created a new page with the Image Journal Top 100 book list on it; Black Robe was on the list.

Sorry I’ve been absent from the blog for so long; hopefully now that I’m home for awhile, I’ll not only catch up, I’ll also be back to posting regularly.

3 responses to “Black Robe by Brian Moore

  1. Pingback: Black Robe, the movie « Word Lily

  2. Pingback: Vacation reading « Word Lily

  3. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: May 31, 2008 at Semicolon

What do you think? I'd love to know.