The Associate by John Grisham

the associateThe Associate by John Grisham (Doubleday, January 27, 2009), 384 pages

Kyle McAvoy, in his last year of law school at Yale, is confronted by men dressed in matching trench coats and sporting badges as he walks out of the gym. Starting at a diner and culminating in a nondescript late-night hotel room, McAvoy is confronted with a video from his past, evidence of a time he’d much rather forget. To keep it under wraps, McAvoy has no choice. From then on, he’s not merely a student; his life is not his own.

The Associate entails a huge New York City law firm, aerospace technology, the tension between the daily grind and doing something you love, surveillance and counter-surveillance, espionage, the FBI — it’s like Alias without the hot chick, the international settings, the romance, and the everything-tied-with-a-bow endings.

As far as I know, I’ve read all of Grisham’s books. I’ve enjoyed all of them, too. I wouldn’t call them high literature, but then, I don’t strive to read lit-ra-chure to the exclusion of all other books. As I recall, this book is cleaner than some of Grisham’s earlier works; not much language, and our protagonist only occasionally indulges in an alcoholic beverage.

I enjoyed reading The Associate. It’s a fast, fun story.

Grisham’s website.

Other reviews:
Shhh I’m Reading
Michele One L
Joyfully Retired
Books I Done Read
So Many Books, So Little Time
Thoughts of Joy

2 responses to “The Associate by John Grisham

  1. This is in my TBR pile, so I’m glad to see it lives up to my expectations of a Grisham book.

  2. I’m so glad you liked the book. This was so much like the first few books Grisham wrote that I was glad he got back to his roots. Thanks for the link.

What do you think? I'd love to know.