Moving

Less than two weeks after putting our house on the market officially, we had a contract on it. In a market in which, we were told, correctly priced houses were/are selling in 4-6 months, as long as everything about the deal goes smoothly, we will close on the sale of our home 6 or 7 weeks after listing it. Not bad. Actually, we can’t think of the timing as anything but Divine.

We agreed to their offer at the beginning of last week, right before we winged our way to Florida for a family reunion.

We returned, recovered from traveling, and yesterday we packed our first boxes. And yes, the first boxes we packed were full of books!

moving box of books

Well before we began filling boxes, I was checking out the library where I’ll be moving. I posted about the Grand Island Public Library wow, more than 2 years ago now, when it was undergoing extensive renovations. [For that matter, I talked about the GI newspaper two years ago, too.] I’ve been pleasantly surprised by the books I’ve found in the library’s catalog, although it’s still lacking some I want to read (but I suppose that shouldn’t be shocking). Still, it’s definitely a step in the right direction on the local-to-me library front.

We still don’t know much about what’s next; we should, God willing, close on our house before July closes. We know we’ll be living in central Nebraska for the near future. My husband will be looking for a part-time job there.

I’m trying to look at this situation full of unknowns as an adventure. But some of the time I’m still really stressed (and some of the time I’m OK). I can’t concentrate on much besides the countless to-do lists and lists of questions running through my head, all related to the move and the unknowns in our future.

My previous posts on this subject, most recent first:
Life: An update
Life
(Yes, profound titles, I know.)

6 responses to “Moving

  1. Big move! I have a good friend who put in an offer on a home yesterday that was listed on Monday or Tuesday of this week, and it was a good one as she knew that there was already another offer on the home. It seems like the Obama stimulus is doing what it was intended to do, and enticing people to buy homes.

  2. Wow! Congratulations on selling your house so quickly and good luck with your move.

  3. That is just a miracle that you have a house for sale that sold so quickly! Congratulations and good luck with the move. It can be really stressful, but labeling the book boxes will help a lot! :–)

  4. Congratulations! I absolutely hate moving house, but it’s wonderful that things are working out so well. I hope everything keeps going so smoothly for y’all!

  5. Thanks for the kind words, everybody.

  6. Congratulations on getting your house sold so fast. I hope everything goes smoothly. Good luck on the move.

What do you think? I'd love to know.